A must re-post

21 Apr

I try to be nice to tourists, give them directions, and recognize they are helping our local economy. But I will never understand how people lose all commonsense once they are on vacation! Is it that most people visiting DC are not used to being in the city, or does it happen to all of us that once on vacation we forget that others around us aren’t?

My big pet peeves are behavior on the escalator and walking down the street, but Capital Spice has a fabulous round up that you have to check out! I agree with all of it, except the suggestion to bike! DC bikers are dangerous enough — I can’t imagine how difficult tourist bikers are going to be! But that’s my bias…

Check it out!

Hehe, this is what DC feels like in the Spring!

5 Responses to “A must re-post”

  1. klegeyt April 21, 2010 at 10:25 am #

    That list was pretty good although I would have focused way more on how tourists affect me, rather than what they should/shouldn’t do for themselves (like where to eat). The escalator thing is awful, particularly at Dupont where it’s such a long escalator. Also, now that I’m done commuting to MD and I take the metro to work every day, I get really angry at the tourist families who insist on taking the metro between 8:30 and 9:00 AM and 5:30 and 6:00 PM. The metro is crowded enough already without having to deal with the Mom helping her toddler slowly make her way down the escalator (on the wrong side) and the 4-child family taking up precious space on the train. Go earlier or later but don’t go during rush hour! And obviously I agree with you about the bikes. If they want to return home dead then, ya, great idea. 🙂

  2. DC Striving April 21, 2010 at 12:47 pm #

    HAHA that drives me crazy too!! I pledge now to never take public transportation during rush hour when I am on vacation!

  3. alex April 24, 2010 at 1:46 pm #

    I think the escalator thing is made many times worse because many, many people won’t say anything but instead just stand behind whomever is stopped, fuming. So then everyone else is stuck too. Usually if you just say excuse me, people will move.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. On a Bicycle Built for Booze « LeGeytimate Thoughts - April 29, 2010

    […] do YOU think?  I’m sure DC Striving will have something to say about […]

  2. Bad Start « LeGeytimate Thoughts - May 11, 2010

    […] Upon my arrival at the Metro and in a rush, a man was taking his baby in its stroller down the escalator — SIDEWAYS.  In other words, the stroller was blocking the entire width of escalator so no […]

Leave a Reply

