On second thought

20 Apr

Have you ever reread a book and realized you totally missed it the first time around?

On the way to and from NYC this weekend I read most of Pride and Prejudice again (hope to finish it tonight), and am finding it an absolute different experience this time around. I must have read it the first time in high school, along with most of the classics I have read, and just remember thinking it was so boring. I probably bought the cliffnotes to be honest.

But reading it this time, I am loving the story and the writing. It took me a little while to get used to the style – I am used to flying through books, and don’t have much patience to actually stop and read each sentence. But once I got used to it, and realized I was missing things by not slowing down, I really started to enjoy it. It’s made me realize that there are so many books I claim to dislike, but I may have simply been too young to appreciate them. It makes me wonder why we read these books so early – I guess it’s the only time you can be forced to read!

Anyway, I want to thank my sister and cousin for convincing me to read it. I am going to try to pick up the classics more often (with a few Twilights and Harry Potters in the middle)!!

2 Responses to “On second thought”

  1. Lusty Reader April 20, 2010 at 11:03 am #

    good point, i totally agree! sometimes the TIMING of when you pick up a book is so important. not just if you read it in school, but if you read a ton of really really awesome books in a row and the next one is “good” but seems worse than it is because of all the amazing ones before? or what if you’re in a really bad mood? all that kind of stuff has really affected how i perceive a book before!

    • DC Striving April 20, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

      You are totally right – I always try to consider what kind of time I will have to give to a book, and what mood I am in, because it makes a difference!

Leave a Reply

