New Easter Recipe

5 Apr

This weekend was so great! I can’t believe everything I did, while still being so relaxed. I finished a book, got a pedicure, got a massage, went to Great Falls Park, cooked a delicious dinner…! I have to pat myself on the back actually.

Last night, I made the same dinner that my mom made in NYC! I couldn’t get home for easter, but at least we ate the same thing, right?!

We both made a roasted pork loin with figs from the William Sonoma Meat and Poultry cookbook. The recipe called for sherry (I did not have sherry), so I made it with red wine. It was  really tasty, and we have half the pork left for dinner tonight. Yum!

Mom, is this what yours looked like?

First of all, I bought a pretty Easter plant.

Recipe called for the usual stuff, like onions, garlic, wine, but also an unexpected treat – almonds.

The sauce – wine, figs, OJ, honey, chicken stock, eventually almonds…

Right out of the oven

And the pork with the fig sauce!

Delicious! Can’t wait for leftovers tonight!

5 Responses to “New Easter Recipe”

  1. mom P. April 6, 2010 at 9:28 am #

    What a beauiful presentation of food. I loved how the
    sauce made the pork look as it was taken out of the oven.
    Good job. MJD and Artie must have been drooling!

    I also felt we were together as we cooked the same dish
    and drank our wine.

    Happy Easter.

    • DC Striving April 7, 2010 at 10:25 am #

      Is that how yours looked? I don’t think too pink, right?

  2. mollytics April 6, 2010 at 10:05 am #

    I am BEYOND impressed. Well done, KP!

    • DC Striving April 7, 2010 at 10:24 am #

      Thanks!! I still need to eat the leftovers. You think still ok from Sunday, right?

  3. mollytics April 7, 2010 at 11:04 am #

    I think they’re still okay, I really do. mom P. might know better 😉

Leave a Reply

