Gotta Love NYC

29 Mar

Along with everyone else in the northeast I was disappointed when the cold and rain returned this weekend, but it did not at all ruin our NYC weekend. In fact, the weather led to a fabulous purchase, and a fabulous view!

First of all, did you know that there is a nice sit down restaurant on the Met’s ground floor overlooking Central Park? How did I not realize that? A wall of windows overlooking the park, in the Met – what a way to spend a few hours on beautiful Saturday afternoon in NYC!

MJD and I met his parents there on Saturday and after we soaked in the atmosphere, I got to show them my highschool, and walk through central park to the west side. It was such a nice afternoon – and the kind of wandering day you can only have in New York!

Of course, Sunday was freezing and raining, but guess what? It was also a great day. Marc’s mom and I bought homemade hats from a vendor in Soho to keep us warm, and then we met my parents for brunch at Hundres Acres. Everyone loved the food, and the restaurant has such a great vibe. MJD laughed when I called it farmhouse chic, but that’s exactly what it feels like to me!

After lunch, we had planned to walk around until our train, but it was so rainy, we decided to go for a drink and ended up at the hotel bar in the Mandarin Oriental. The view is spectacular and I was so glad the rain brought us there. It was a perfect place to sit and relax and talk before leaving the city. I wish I had brought my camera, but you’ll have to trust me and go there for drinks when you are visiting New York!

As always, I felt torn when boarding the train back to DC. There are so many parts of New York that I miss, that just can’t beĀ found in any other city. But then there are other parts that I’m glad cannot be found in DC!

I just wish I could bottle up my family and the great aspects of New York, and bring them to DC! That would be perfect.

2 Responses to “Gotta Love NYC”

  1. Brooke March 29, 2010 at 1:10 pm #

    Great Tip about the Mandarin Oriental! I’m going to NY in May and I’ve totally bookmarked this now – thanks!

    • DC Striving March 30, 2010 at 9:45 am #

      So fun! You have to go – great view and great cocktails. The lobby bar is on the 32nd floor or something impressive like that!

Leave a Reply

