Things I want to do in DC

8 Feb

I was reading this month’s Washingtonian last night, and got so frustrated by the Great Dates article. There are so many things I talk about doing, that I still have never come close to following through on. Obviously this is a general life problem, like how I still haven’t taken cooking or photography classes, or found a workout I can stick with!

But after reading the article, I realized a DC activities list is something I might actually be able to get through.

So here’s my list of things I want to do in DC (in no particular order):

1. See a play at the Folger Theater

2. Get tickets for the Shakespeare Theater Company downtown

3. Eat ar Restaurant Eve

4. Ice skate at the National Gallery Ice Rink

5. Listen to a reading at Politics & Prose

6. Hike through the Arboretum (we have driven through it)

7. Visit the Botanical Gardens

8. Get tix to the Birchmere

9. Ditto the Strathmore

10. Hike and picnic in Rock Creek Park

11. See art and sip wine during an evening of First Fridays in Dupont

12. Get drinks after hours at the Phillips

13. Hear Poetry at Busboys & Poets

14. Go back to Komi and Volt (that counts as one since I have eaten at both!)

15. See an Irish play at the Keegan Theater

16. Get involved with a local charity and event, preferably the DC Central Kitchen Capitol Food Fight.

I probably can’t do these in one year — since a few of them cost quite a bit of money – but maybe all the free ones, and a few pricey ones by the end of the year?!

I am just going to keep adding to this as things come to me – that way I can always look back and remember when I have a free day!

14 Responses to “Things I want to do in DC”

  1. Artie February 8, 2010 at 5:07 pm #

    Dad and I are down for all but #4.

    • DC Striving February 8, 2010 at 5:23 pm #

      I figured there might be a few things I would have to do with the ladies!

  2. LiLu February 8, 2010 at 6:22 pm #

    I’ve lived next to BOTH Busboys & Poets but never made it inside. Must fix that…

    • DC Striving February 8, 2010 at 6:53 pm #

      I don’t know…yet I have somehow been to every freaking safeway in the city. And I don’t even drive that much. I don’t get it.

  3. moderndomestic February 8, 2010 at 8:21 pm #

    Whenever I read those types of articles or the Going Out Gurus or whatever I want to have a heart attack. Like, I will never do it all.

    Actually, my friend Elena and I recently started a shared Google doc, where we write down places or things we want to go to. And then when we’re planning a happy hour we try to pick something from the list – otherwise we’ll never go anywhere new. It’s worked pretty well so far.

    • DC Striving February 9, 2010 at 12:30 am #

      So smart! I always end up at the same after work happy hour and dinner spots. And there are so many other places in the city to visit!

  4. mom P. February 8, 2010 at 10:46 pm #

    I will take on Number 4

    • Artie February 9, 2010 at 5:04 pm #

      Phew, because these booties are trouble enough. I can’t imagine what I’d have to do if you people put skates on the bottom.

  5. klegeyt February 9, 2010 at 10:52 am #

    Double date for #3? Restaurant Eve’s exec chef is a friend/former NY co-worker’s cousin and since the second I told him I was moving to DC he told me I had to go there. It’s been over three years now and I still haven’t gone. Also I haven’t done anything else on your list either. Sad.

  6. John P February 9, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

    Mom and i went to the Birhmere years ago to see the Seldom Scene with Jonathan Edwards. it was an excellent show in a good venue. i imagine they still offer lots of Americana music.

    • DC Striving February 9, 2010 at 5:06 pm #

      I think so too. I want to see someone like Emmy Lou Harris there!

  7. Kirsten February 13, 2010 at 11:12 pm #

    I recommend doing the botanical gardens while the orchid show is there!

    It’s actually nice to go any time in the winter. It’s always like spring or summer on the inside so it’s a nice break from the cold and reminder of what’s to come.

    • DC Striving February 17, 2010 at 3:47 pm #

      Great idea. I need a break from the winter!

Leave a Reply

