Delivery Options

8 Jan

Does anyone else feel like it’s impossible to get good, affordable takeout in this city? All the local thai and sushi places in the Dupont area at least are fine, but they are really expensive for takout. And forget the pizza. We ordered some gross and expensive pizza last night.

Why can’t DC figure out delivery?

I just saw on Borderstan that another pizza place is opening – this one on 14th. I wonder if it will deliver. So far, it seems like all the half way decent pizza in this town is pick-up only. (Pizza Paradiso, Red Rocks, Two Amys, of course)

HomeMade Pizza – will you be my solution? Sometimes I am tired and don’t want to cook. All I ask is that you taste ok and you deliver one pie for under $20. Too much to ask?

10 Responses to “Delivery Options”

  1. klegeyt January 8, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    My #1 complaint about DC, actually. Remember when we lived in NY and could get ANYTHING delivered. And there was so much competition that prices were reasonable (even for New York)! I remember being very hungover one morning and having the bodega (literally) across the street from my apartment deliver me a carton of eggs. You can also get your McDonald’s delivered in NYC. DC needs to get on board with this. The fact that our favorite delivery pizza right now is Papa Johns clearly shows that there is a problem.

  2. moderndomestic January 8, 2010 at 1:16 pm #

    Pete’s (petesapizza.com) delivers and it’s supposed to be good (I went there once for a slice, and it was pretty good, but I don’t think I can really judge until I have a whole, fresh, pizza), and it’s around $20 for a cheese pizza (not sure if there’s a delivery charge).

    I have an easy recipe for homemade pizza that I love (http://moderndomestic.wordpress.com/2009/06/23/beyond-the-margarita-pizza-with-spinach-goat-cheese-and-eggs/). It’s not as fast as delivery but it requires no kneading, and just 1 hour and 15 minutes of rising time. The recipe looks complicated but once you do it you realize that it’s really simple.

    • klegeyt January 8, 2010 at 4:09 pm #

      Pete’s-a-Pizza IS really good in-house (I’d say the best I’ve had in DC). But I’ve had their delivery and it was very expensive and disappointing 😦

      • KPD January 8, 2010 at 4:30 pm #

        Better than Two Amys? Not surprised the delivery was bad;-)

    • KPD January 8, 2010 at 4:29 pm #

      Looks delicious! And I haven’t tried Pete’s. It’s been on my list forever…maybe I’ll give it a whirl next week.

  3. Danielle January 8, 2010 at 1:16 pm #

    I agree that NYC has much better delivery options. But, you have no idea how good you have it in your area compared to the Hill. I can’t get Thai or Indian delivered for less than $30. You’re right though, that it is always expensive.

    • KPD January 8, 2010 at 4:29 pm #

      haha, I agree that the Hill is terrible – even for lunch options! I still have to try your recs for chinese in my area!

  4. DK January 9, 2010 at 10:48 pm #

    Ditto. Chix on U St. delivers which is pretty good if you are in the mood for chicken and sides. I also have to give dominoes props for their new sauce on their pizza. Its still no 2 amy’s, but it is my delivery go to.

  5. Kirsten January 16, 2010 at 1:50 am #

    I usually order Pizza Boli’s. It’s cheap, delivery is usually fast, and it’s pretty very decent and fresh-from-the-oven when it arrived. Maybe it’s not New York good, and maybe not Pete’s eaten-in-restaurant good (I haven’t been to Two Amy’s), but you can often get 2 medium 2 topping pizzas for $16, which is hard to beat.

    Matt says the wings are gross, though, and the salads are all iceberg lettuce, so stick to the pizza.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Capital Spice Weekend Odds & Ends – We’re Back! « Capital Spice - January 9, 2010

    […] Striving laments the lack of great food delivery options in DC.     Ever thought about making sushi at home?    Are there more backyard chicken coops in […]

Leave a Reply

