Christmas Baking for a Non-Baker

23 Dec

Every holiday my sister and my mom bake. They each bake their own dessert, they bake together, they help finish each others baking projects. I do not bake.

I tend to sit in the kitchen and talk to them, occasionally stirring or watching the timer if one of them has to run to the phone. It works for all involved (as least it works for me!)

But this year I pledged to contribute something to the holiday dessert spread. The thing is, I know I won’t change my pattern at home. There is something about going home that makes me (all of us?) digress. I am sure that the moment I arrive home, I will laugh at my baking intentions and pour some wine!

So, my plan is to bake tonight on my own – living up to my pledge, but not messing with tradition.

I’m going to attempt the basic sugar cookie – but using a recipe I got from my neighbor at her holiday party last weekend. Apparently, the key is brown sugar and a sugar glaze. I don’t have pictures, but her cookies looked something like this:

Cookies!

These look delicious as well! Alright, wish me luck tonight. Happy Baking!

4 Responses to “Christmas Baking for a Non-Baker”

  1. Artie December 23, 2009 at 3:05 pm #

    Dad wants that.

  2. klegeyt December 23, 2009 at 4:54 pm #

    “Artie’s” comments crack me up. Merry Christmas!!

    • KPD December 23, 2009 at 8:05 pm #

      He’s such a character! Have a great Christmas!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cookies, Cookies, and more cookies « DC Striving - January 14, 2010

    […] and the cookies I promised to make were not very good. […]

Leave a Reply

