A Blizzard Temptation (Scrooge Warning)

22 Dec

My husband and Artie decided this morning that things have gone too far. More than two days after the snow stopped falling, the side streets are still a mess and sidewalks still haven’t been shovelled. I have nothing to say about the side streets (can you really call S and T streets in Dupont “side streets” anyway) other than, DC sometimes rots.

As for sidewalks, that’s harder to take. I mean you buy a house and have what, four or five feet to shovel out front? It seems like an annoying but manageable task. Unfortunately, a lot of homeowners seem to disagree, as I almost fell on my face numerous times on my walk home from Safeway last night.

So, back to MJD and Artie. They declared this morning, that if you haven’t cleaned your sidewalk, dog owners should not have to pick up dog poop outside your house.

Fair deal, right?! Check out the streets in your neighborhood. I don’t think that’s a scrooge move. It’s a holiday gift in return!

4 Responses to “A Blizzard Temptation (Scrooge Warning)”

  1. John P December 22, 2009 at 3:25 pm #

    I’m with MJD and Artie. Poo to ingrates that don’t shovel.

  2. restaurant refugee December 22, 2009 at 7:39 pm #

    A corollary thought to your exceedingly reasonable position is the question of the lost entrepreneurial spirit of kids. When I was a young Washingtonian, snow days where not just a day free from school, but also an opportunity to make some fast cash. I, along with every other pre-teen/teenager in the neighborhood would roam the streets as soon as the snow stopped falling. There was competition to work quickly, you developed regulars if you did a good job, and the money was pretty solid for young bodies that didn’t need to stretch or use muscle creams after a day of hard work.

    I would have happily paid someone who knocked on my door to clean my sidewalks, and dig-out my car… But the knocks never came.

    Arghhh!!! I’ve become one of those people who talks about “things in my day!”

    • KPD December 22, 2009 at 7:53 pm #

      It’s alright! The snow makes us all nostalgic. Now, if you had ended with “arghhh…young people today” I might have had to reconsider! ha

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. More About Those Icy Sidewalks and YOUR Responsibilities « Borderstan - December 22, 2009

    […] at DC Striving, there is a suggestion that if a sidewalk has not been shoveled and de-iced that dog owners should […]

Leave a Reply

