Bus Behavior

17 Dec

I know you’ve all heard me complain about the DC bus – the long wait, buses skipping stops, and mostly buses clustered together so you have to wait forever if you miss the three that stop at the same time!

But I realized today, there is something I like once I am on the bus. 

“BACK DOOR. OPEN THE BACK DOOR”

It’s the one example I can think of that people in DC start yelling.

Generally, I find DC residents to be pretty easy going. They don’t push people into the middle of the bus or metro in order to get on, no one yells at people standing on the wrong side of the escalator, there’s not much jostling and weaving on a crowded street, and I rarely see anyone steal a cab from someone else.

But when I was sitting on the bus today, and all of a sudden I heard that jarring scream, “BACK DOOR,” it felt like home!

2 Responses to “Bus Behavior”

  1. klegeyt December 17, 2009 at 1:27 pm #

    Ha, I was just about to say “Hey, I yell at people to move to the other side of the escalator all the time!” and then quickly realized it’s because I’m a New Yorker so I don’t count for this study.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pick what annoys you the most on the bus « DC Striving - January 3, 2011

    […] Jan I had to repost this look at DC bus riders from The 42. I have a long history of aggression directed at DC buses, and laughed out loud reading this one. Here are my favorites but you have to […]

Leave a Reply

