Reading is fun

21 Oct

I love this post on the lil bee today. It’s a guest post from Ciao, Chessa about the books she loved as a child. As an avid reader, I loved going through her list and remembering the joy of reading all these books. Especially, the Secret Garden

I don’t know how many times I read the Secret Garden, and watched the movie. I think we even went to a play. I think books are the nicest gift to give a new mom – don’t new books just speak to all the cuddly, happy times yet to come!

I also have such nice family memories of reading – Dad reading to us at night, and sitting with my sister in the living room pretending to read school books, but really devouring the Baby-sitter’s Club! I think my mom bought be every book about Helen Keller one summer!

I still love to read, and am always looking to join/start a book club. It’s too easy to go for weeks without reading – getting caught up in television and work. A book club (even one that never talks about the book – aka mine) at least gets me reading consistently.

Now I can’t wait to start my next book!

4 Responses to “Reading is fun”

  1. moderndomestic October 21, 2009 at 2:38 pm #

    I also loved The Secret Garden; Frances Hodgson Burnett had a wonderful way of getting into a child’s mind and writing stories from the child’s point of view. I can’t say how many times I’ve read that book, and watched the craptastic Masterpiece Theater version. If you want to read one of her adult novels, Persephone books republished The Making of a Marchioness, which was a bestseller in its day. I got it a couple years ago for Christmas and loved it: http://www.persephonebooks.co.uk/pages/titles/index.asp?id=46

    The Babysitters Club books were great! They went down like candy – I just read them over and over again. I think my favorites were the big “special edition” ones where they all went on a big trip together – especially that one where they all go to a Ski Lodge (I think). My mother finally had to take them away because she was worried I was reading them too much and not trying other things.

    • KPD October 21, 2009 at 4:55 pm #

      Oh I loved the “special edition” books, same with the sweet valley high books! My mom finally had to bargain with us – one good book, then a book of our choice. It actually worked really well. I think that’s why I am such a fast reader today!
      I am going to go online and look for the Making of Marchioness now. Thanks for the rec.

  2. klegeyt October 21, 2009 at 4:43 pm #

    Did you see the Hallmark version of the Secret Garden?? That was my absolute favorite. We taped it off the TV so it had the commercials and everything and my sister and I would watch it constantly. In fact, my sister just quoted it the other day in an email, she said “that’s just the wind, blowin’ over the moors.” Ahhh.

    Also loved the Babysitter’s Club. I wanted to be them SO bad. I thought they were the coolest. And I also really enjoyed those special editions. I spent every summer in book stores snatching up the newest one. I also used to read those Christopher Pike and R.L. Stine mysteries. Did you ever get into those??

  3. moderndomestic October 21, 2009 at 5:02 pm #

    Actually – that is the version I meant! Not the Masterpiece Theater, but Hallmark. Yes, I was obsessed with it. Especially because that guy who plays Dickon was super cute.

    That movie also accounts for the first time I ever laid eyes on Colin Firth – he plays the adult “Colin” at the end of the movie.

    I never read Christopher Pike or R.L. Stine – they were too scary for me. One of my friends was really into R.L. Stine, and I would get nightmares just from having her recount the plots on our morning walk to school. Once my third grade teacher read us “The Curse of the Blue Figurine,” by John Bellairs, and I couldn’t sleep for months.

    I was actually a big fantasy girl. I was obsessed with the Redwall books, and I loved Dealing With Dragons, by Patrica C. Wrede.

    Let me know how you like The Making of Marchioness!

Leave a Reply

