Successful Dinner

7 Oct

It took me longer than I expected to get these pictures uploaded, but it really was a fun and successful dinner! I was glad the one couple cancelled, so that I was only cooking for friends, since there were some mishaps on the new recipes! 

I ended up serving little hors d’oeuvres from whole foods (olives and a bean salad) when they arrived. Meanwhile I started the butternut squash risotto about a half hour before they were expected. I totally agree with comments by Restaurant Refugee that this would be tough if you were serving an appetizer and playing host. But for these friends it was fine!

The risotto was good, but I think I could have added more sage and cheese for seasoning, and cooked the squash a bit more before adding the rice. Or I might have coooked the whole thing on too low a temperature. But after 45 mins and all the broth was gone, I had to add more broth to fully cook the rice, and the squash was not totally soft. Our friends argued it was better that way, cause a different texture from the rice, but I think next time I’ll try to get it totally soft. Thankfully it was cooked through, so it want just a matter of preference I think!

Dinner ingrediants

Risotto early in the cooking

Risotto early in the cooking

Last picture I took - it got softer than this!

Last picture I took - it got softer than this!

Earlier in the day I had made the apple tart suggested by Modern Domestic! I have to say right away that I am not a baker, my tart DID NOT rise like Martha’s, and I have no idea why! But it tasted good, and I bought vanilla bean ice cream, and caramel sauce to warm and pour over the bowl, so the end product was delicious!

I would try this tart again, but I am not sure where I went wrong.  It didn’t rise, and the bottom was a little wet – although it wasn’t when I served it. Maybe I rolled the dough too much?Thoughts!?

The directions said to cut butter on top?

The directions said to cut butter on top?

Right out of the oven

Right out of the oven

After the glaze

After the glaze

Thanks again for all your suggestions! I have so much cooking to do now and so many new recipes!

6 Responses to “Successful Dinner”

  1. moderndomestic October 7, 2009 at 12:28 pm #

    Sorry the tart didn’t quite turn out as hoped! It looks like the apples were too juicy, and the juice wasn’t soaked up by the crust. I think I’d modify this recipe and toss the apples in a couple tablespoons of flour before placing on the pastry crust. It looks beautiful, though!

    And I’m glad your dinner party was a success. You’re definitely harnessing your inner Martha.

    • KPD October 7, 2009 at 12:34 pm #

      Fabulous suggestion! I am going to try it again with the other pastry sheet. It tasted delicious and that’s all that matters!

  2. klegeyt October 7, 2009 at 12:54 pm #

    Ooh, I love butternut-squash-anything. Fall is definitely my fav time of year when it comes to food and decorating. I really want to get these acorn-shaped bowls that Williams-Sonoma is selling right now but it’s so unecessary … maybe if I hosted Thanksgiving every year or something? I’ll have to get that risotto recipe from you. We took a risotto cooking class for my birthday a few years ago and still have not put any of the recipes into practice. Risotto just seems like so much work!

  3. John P October 7, 2009 at 3:14 pm #

    I’m very impressed with your cooking and the pictures. What type of beer did you serve?

    • KPD October 7, 2009 at 4:06 pm #

      We had dogfish ale pumpkin beer! Are you proud?

  4. John P October 8, 2009 at 10:17 am #

    I am very proud. The blind Tiger is having Pumpkin Beer night next week right before we visit you.

Leave a Reply

