Dinner Party Update – Finding Martha

2 Oct

Thank you all for the wonderful suggestions! I have so many recipes to try now – I can’t wait!

An update on the menu: I had decided to make Legeytimate Thoughts’ pumpkin ravioli with butter and sage and Modern Domestic‘s rustic apple tart for dessert. But then I learned that one of the couples can’t make it (one-half of that couple also happens to be my husband’s boss), and now that only one couple is coming, and they are friends, I think I might try the butternut squash risotto

I totally get that it’s pretty hands on, but since they are friends I hope they won’t mind me disappearing into the kitchen for awhile. And I just know I won’t make it if I don’t do it now. I may live to regret this, but I’m taking on the challenge!

I also loved the idea of using a fall vegetable, and getting some fall beers!

Now I have to get an apple corer and clean the apartment!

Oh and our realtor is also coming over this weekend to help us decide which home projects will add more value to our place – since we can only afford to do a few from our growing list. So, I really need to clean for that!

I’ll let you know how it all goes and if I stick to this plan!

Thank you!

2 Responses to “Dinner Party Update – Finding Martha”

  1. klegeyt October 2, 2009 at 5:43 pm #

    If you can get out to Williams-Sonoma they have a great apple slicer called “Dial-a-Slice” which allows you to core and then cut the apple in two different sizes. http://www.williams-sonoma.com/products/sku5266705/index.cfm?pkey=xsrd0m1%7C16%7C%7C%7C0%7C%7C%7C%7C%7C%7C%7Capple&cm%5Fsrc=SCH. I think Williams-Sonoma should be paying me for all the endorsements I’ve been giving them lately.

    I will do my best to get those Caprese Tart pics up tonight for you! And if you want to try them, like I said you can borrow my pans and I also have 3 sheets of leftover pie dough that you can have since I won’t be using them before they go bad.

    And melted caramel is my favorite too. You should try the caramel they sell at Dupont Market, it’s delicious (though expensive like everything else they have there … I ran down there to get a jar of pasta sauce for chicken parm last night and one jar was $8.50!!!!).

    Have a good weekend!!

  2. moderndomestic October 3, 2009 at 9:06 am #

    That sounds like an excellent menu! Let us know how it goes. Mmmm . . . beer and risotto . . .

Leave a Reply

