Party Throwing

16 Sep

I would like to throw a party. I loved planning my our wedding, and as you know have been considering event planning as a possible career move. That or teaching (summers off!!!!!). Anyway, I wanted to throw my sister a surprise bday party earlier this month. My cousin and I teamed up to throw a joint surprise party for our sisters, we had the evite written and everything, and for the first time, they decided to throw themselves a joint party! So, scratch that.

Then I decided to throw a party for myself (and MJD) – we’re both turning 30 this year. But, we booked a belated-honeymoon to Hawaii, so that’s probably party enough!!

Now I’m back to sqaure one. I want to throw a party, oh an I wish we had a bigger living space for this party. 

Alas. What I do have are lots of blogs to read to give me inspiration until I have a party to throw. And today, I loved the idea of a little tea party shower with these (shown on Thoughtful Day):

tea cups

The cake stands can be found on Let them eat Cake.

3 Responses to “Party Throwing”

  1. klegeyt September 16, 2009 at 3:30 pm #

    How about a Halloween party?? It’s always fun to have somewhere to go on Halloween rather than a bar. And, you can make it themed (aside from just Halloween). Like “come dressed as your favorite movie character from the 80’s” or “famous couples throughout history.” It’s always hard to come up with costume ideas so that would help people. Plus, Halloween’s not too far away but not too close either that you’d be rushed to get it organized. Design*Sponge had a cute DIY project for Halloween soap today. Maybe you could make one of those to classily decorate the bathroom for the party?

    Also we did a tea party theme for my sister’s bridal shower. All the guests were asked to wear an outfit appropriate for a garden party/English tea and large, fancy hats were encouraged. My Mom, my sister’s Godmother and I made tea sandwiches and scones to pass around. Each table had its own tea set and each lady got her own tea cup and saucer which doubled as the favor at the end of the day. We scoured Home Goods and similar stores in the weeks before so everything was mismatched. Very cute, if I do say so myself 🙂

    • KPD September 16, 2009 at 3:56 pm #

      Halloween is a good idea! That bridal shower sounds so adorable!!! I love it! I’m going to come to you for advice on this party when I throw it!

  2. asiajo September 16, 2009 at 5:24 pm #

    Once I joined a dessert party and I had so much fun! All desserts were homemade and beautifully displayed on the table and the best thing was no one cared about any calories and fat at all 🙂

    Good luck with all your parties! You sound really passionate about organizing parties and events!

Leave a Reply

