Wisdom Teeth are NOT Wise

15 Sep

I am having wy wisdom teeth removed on Thursday. So I will not be posting at the end of the week.

I know a lot of people have this surgery, but I am dreading it. So much so, that I have ignored every dentist who told me to get it for about eight or nine years. The first surgeon I went to, years ago, made me watch a video of everything that could go wrong. I remember, my mom was in the waiting room, and after I watched the video I was brought into the surgery room. I sat down, and when the dentist came in I asked “Is this urgent?” and the second he started to say, “well, no, but you should…” I booked it out of there!

Just walked out to my mom and said, “Let’s go!!”

Since then I had one wisdom tooth removed in 2005 – it was infected (ew, sorry!). And then I went back to ignoring the hard working men and women of the densistry profession.

But the time has come for the three remaining teeth to be removed…..PANIC.

Fortunately, my mom is coming down, and she and MJD will come with me. I feel like they will protect me if the doctor is weird or anything. Why isn’t there a good way to make sure your dentist/doctor is any good? And then mom and hubbie will take care of me and get me ice cream!

The big question is: laughing gas or being knocked out through the surgery??

My feeling is that one should only be knocked out (funny expression!) when absolutely necessary, but all my friends and co-workers keep telling me I need more than laughing gas.

Thoughts?!

6 Responses to “Wisdom Teeth are NOT Wise”

  1. Danielle September 15, 2009 at 11:06 am #

    Knocked out! Without a doubt. I think this constitutes “absolutely necessary.”

  2. KPD September 15, 2009 at 1:39 pm #

    But I’m a wimp!!!

  3. klegeyt September 15, 2009 at 2:59 pm #

    I still don’t have a good answer for you. What does Mom say!?

    P.S. how funny is WordPress with its “possibly related posts?” ‘Chinese Dentist Makes Tower of Human Teeth.’ That is totally related to your post about getting your wisdom teeth out … riiiiight.

  4. KPD September 15, 2009 at 3:29 pm #

    Haha! omg! I didn’t even notice that. Tower of Human Teeth!?? EW!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wisdom Teeth « Mollytics! - September 16, 2009

    […] heard you’re getting some wisdom teeth pulled tomorrow. That’s a bummer, but you’re a champ and you’re totally going to survive like the […]

  2. Book Club! « LeGeytimate Thoughts - September 17, 2009

    […] a particular topic.  It’s sometimes accurate and sometimes WAY off (take DCStriving’s post on getting her wisdom teeth out after which WordPress suggested she read a post entitled […]

Leave a Reply

