My Own Private Marathon

11 Sep

Well, not totally my own since somehow I convinced two friends to join me. And not really a marathon since it’s only 3.1 miles. But nonetheless I am very proud to have signed up for my first 5K race!

Let’s start by saying that I’m not a gym person.  I don’t like the gym. I don’t “need” to work out to deal with stress. I don’t sleep better when I’m going to the gym. So I usually don’t.

But MJD and I have been on a health kick for the last three months or so (I’ve stopped buying cupcakes every weekend, and gotten so much better at ignoring those warm, crusty baguettes at Whole Foods) and we’ve been going to the gym pretty consistently. I’m really impressed with how well we’ve been doing actually.

But a few weeks ago I started to get bored of going and knew I was going to be a bad influence if I didn’t keep it up. So I decided to give myself a goal – to run a 5K in the fall. I found one that raises money to fight cancer, and I convinced myself that 3 miles is actually really short. Thankfully, I also convinced two friends of the same thing. They agreed to sign up too!

They’re both from NY — it’s fate that we are friends in DC. I just love New Yorkers in DC! Anyway, we had our first practice run tonight, poor Amanda got stuck at work, but Genna and I ran 1.58 miles!! That’s half the race and I think I could have run more. It’s amazing how much faster the time passes when chatting, and not just staring at the numbers on the treadmill. I’ve only gotten to 2 miles so far (on the treadmill), but today gave me confidence that I’ll be able to finish in the moment.

Plus we got to catch up while doing what normally feels like a chore. It was great.

Wish me luck on the next practice (maybe this weekend). We’re planning to run two miles.

4 Responses to “My Own Private Marathon”

  1. klegeyt September 11, 2009 at 11:27 am #

    Awesome! You will love running a road race and will feel so accomplished. Plus there’s nothing better to motivate you to exercise (except maybe a wedding … but that ship has sailed).

  2. mollytics September 11, 2009 at 9:06 pm #

    Yo go, KPD! I will totally be there to cheer you on. And I won’t bring a cupcake to celebrate… just a wheat germ shot.

  3. Genna September 14, 2009 at 10:20 pm #

    Hooray! I can’t wait, we are going to have a blast. As long as it isn’t pouring rain.

  4. KPD September 15, 2009 at 10:09 am #

    It’s going to be great! I’m so impressed with our effort so far!

    Molly, feel free to bring the cupcakes!

Leave a Reply

