Perfect distraction

31 Aug

What’s your perfect distraction? When something happens in your personal life or at work, do you have something that helps to keep your mind off of it?

For me it’s usually reading. TV can work (especially if there’s wine involved) but my mind still tends to wander. If I’m reading a good book, one that is totally engrossing, I can forget for an hour or two what’s going on. I know Lusty Reader must know what I’m talking about. And my sister and cousin are avid readers as well!

Right now, I’m reading Harry Potter. Yesterday I finished the third, and today I started the fourth. I know it’s not a classic, this isn’t Fitzgerald or Hemingway, but you know what…it’s good! It’s a compelling story, the characters are developed, and the stories are suspenseful. I was totally shocked at the ending of the third book – I did not see that coming!

I”m completely enjoying the series. What about you?!

4 Responses to “Perfect distraction”

  1. Artie September 1, 2009 at 10:12 am #

    I can’t believe my mom is reading a childrens book. So embarrassing! Just as long as she doesn’t bring it to the new dog park…..

  2. Casey September 1, 2009 at 1:11 pm #

    Wait a minute – you are only just now reading Harry Potter?! Well, I guess better late than never. I loved the series. And I loved the movies. I haven’t seen the new one yet, but perhaps I will check it out over the long weekend.

  3. KPD September 1, 2009 at 1:31 pm #

    Oh good! I am loving them. I can’t put them down at night and they may be part of why I am so exhausted these days.

  4. Lusty Reader September 4, 2009 at 12:55 pm #

    thanks for the shout out! i am so behind in blog reading with the move. but i think picking up a book is JUST what i need to relax right now! hope you enjoy the rest of the HP books, my whole family loved them!

Leave a Reply

