Baby Showers

11 Aug

This post on My Favorite Things sums up my current stage in life. For awhile, weekends were all about bridal showers, bachelorette parties, and weddings. All things I LOVE! And can’t wait to do more of in the coming years. But the numbers are definitely starting to shift, and more weekends are spent at baby showers, and trips to meet the newest baby, rather that wedding-related activities. Also, a fabulous time (other than the switch from champagne to sparling water!).

Since so many of my friends are starting to have babies, I thought I should try to post one baby-related thing each week. I’m always looking for baby gifts these days, and I’m kind of at a loss (I did love that Bon Jovi onsie though!). I don’t know what’s out there. A bunch of you have to feel that way too, right?! So, I’ll try to post some cute gift idea, or shower ideas, that we can use for all of our friends!

I’ll start by posting the gift MJD and I gave friends at our first coed baby shower last week. This shower was very chill – no gift opening – just hanging out having a good time. The party was a surprise for the mom-to-be, and the invitation asked for books for their new collection.

Originally, I was going to get a baby book. but then I thought most people would do that, and there could be a lot of repetition. So, we got The Little Engine That Could and Curious George Plants a Tree.

MJD loved trains when he was little, so I thought that was a great choice for him. And I loved Curious George as a kid. The couple is very interested in clean energy and the environment, so I figured Curious George Plants a Tree would be perfect for them! Fun for us to buy, and hopefully for them to receive.

But books are easy. It’s the parties that have no instructions that are tough. I’ll keep you posted! Ha!

2 Responses to “Baby Showers”

  1. Danielle August 11, 2009 at 12:37 pm #

    I threw a shower for Kristen Salvo where books were requested. I gave Corduroy as one of my books because it’s a fave.

  2. MJD August 11, 2009 at 2:25 pm #

    who said i ever stopped liking trains?

Leave a Reply

