Relax and Enjoy

10 Mar

Relax and Enjoy is my new motto. I am so tightly wired these days and it’s just not that fun. I always seem to have a stressed feeling in the pit of my stomach, even when I am doing something fun. And it is especially terrible on days like this, when my sister is in town for a limited town, and we’re supposed to have a blast! So, Relax and Enjoy is the motto.

Lil’ sis arrived on Sunday night and we’ve been very busy eating, drinking, and mostly TV watching. Hence the lame non-existent posting, and damn my google reader is about to explode with blogs that I cannot keep up with! (I will be catching up on my reading all day Friday I hope!) Anyway, on Sunday, I picked the sis up at Union Station and since we were both starving, we drove right home to make a delicious Jamie Oliver pasta recipe. I am looking for the recipe to share – if I can’t find it I will type it up. The husband and the sis thought it was fabulous as well. It calls for baked ricotta…need I say more!

Yesterday, lil’ sis had a bunch of informational interviews, we walked around and just hung out at home. For dinner, MJD picked us up and we went to Two Amy’s – a favorite of all of ours! MJD ordered his own pizza (he doesn’t like to share;-) and we split a Two Amy’s pizza and an Etna (eggplant, olives, capers). Oh and we started with the bruschetta and beet salad. That place is fabulous and we had a great time people watching and making fun of each other!

We really wanted to take lil’ sis to Max’s Ice Cream in Glover park, but it was closed. BOOO. After two other failed attempts, we finally got some ben & jerry’s at my most hated Safeway and watched Friday Night Lights on Tivo. PS, that safeway card is worth getting – we saved three dollars on two pints!

Today we are being lazy and watched Martha Stewart and the View. Now we have to make a plan for the afternoon before the sis abandons me for more meetings.

Sorry – I just realized that I have no point to what I am writing! I’ll just leave you with that synopsis (totes for mom and dad!) and be back in a few days!

I love having visitors! See you Friday!

4 Responses to “Relax and Enjoy”

  1. Mansionmogul March 10, 2009 at 11:37 am #

    There were at least 5 things that I completely relate to in this post (separated at birth?) but I’ll keep it to:

    My little sis is visiting me in two weeks as well! I am so excited but equally anxious about making the most of it (I am also constantly trying to adopt a “live in the moment” attitude). I’ve been saving some stuff on tivo especially for her visit.

    and

    Your use of “totes”. Horray and have fun entertaining!

  2. mom P. March 10, 2009 at 3:14 pm #

    Thanks for the update!

  3. Artie March 10, 2009 at 8:00 pm #

    This post is stupid. Why aren’t there any pictures of me?

  4. KPD March 11, 2009 at 1:21 pm #

    MM: Let me know if you need ideas for what to do with your sister — we usually shop and eat but talk at least about doing more! We come up with plans, we just don’t stick with them! ha!

Leave a Reply

