Pasta with Chicken and Broccoli

17 Feb

I’m trying to cook more during my time of unemployment – specifically to make more affordable meals. I usually fall into a routine of making the same few easy mid-week meals, and only try new recipes on the weekend. And those dinners seem to always be Sunday comfort food, like roast chicken, lasagna, pork chops, stew, or meatballs. But my new goal is to get comfortable with easy, cheap recipes that I can rely on once I’m back at work (knock on wood).

Last week, I tried three recipes from the February issue of Real Simple Magazine, and two out of the three were great. I made chicken with a roasted sweet potato and spinach salad (tasty and easy), a shrimp and bean dish (not that great for me, but I don’t really like beans or couscous)*, and this orecciette with roasted broccoli and walnuts.

I think the pasta dish was my favorite, although I also added chicken to that recipe. It’s such an obvious meal, but sometimes you just need a little kick in the pants to get it done! I shoveled most of it down, so only remembered to take pictures at the end! Oops. The photo on the Real Simple site is a lot better!

Pasta dish

Pasta Dish

Tonight, I’m using the rest of my shrimp and adding it to spaghetti and pesto, with chilled string beans on the side! Hope it’s better than the other shrimp dish.

*You are probably wondering why I chose that shrimp recipe if I don’t like beans or couscous. Good Question. Answer is DENIAL. I want to like beans and couscous, so occasionally I make them and hope my tastes have changed. But I think this time I figured out that I have to move on!

4 Responses to “Pasta with Chicken and Broccoli”

  1. Brooke February 19, 2009 at 11:49 am #

    Great Blog! I recently moved to DC from Seattle in August to join my boyfriend (yay no more long-distance!). We live near Lincoln Park and I’m still warming up to the city. I’m an out-of-work graphic designer aka “freelance” graphic designer and I cook a lot as well – am trying to learn good go-to recipes also for when the time comes that I will be back to work again. Keep cooking!

  2. KPD February 22, 2009 at 12:41 pm #

    We lived by Lincoln Park for awhile also! Are you enjoying Eastern Market? This city is so much nicer in the warm weather — it’ll get better! I’m looking forward to trying some recipes from your blog!

  3. Mansionsmogul/Brooke February 24, 2009 at 10:15 am #

    Yes, LOVE that Eastern Market. My favorite time is on the weekends when we can stroll through and people-watch and pick up some great ingredients. Looking forward to the warmer weather! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wednesday Night’s Alright for Cooking « Mollytics! - March 5, 2009

    […] aggression), and cook dinner. So I turned to DC Striving for recipe ideas, and she referred me to a pasta-broccoli-walnuts recipe she had blogged about earlier. […]

Leave a Reply

