Guest Blogger: My Sister the Baker

6 Feb

Something a little different this morning. A guest post from my sister! The whole family is getting into blogging! My sister, who is also unemployed, is an excellent baker, and I’m hoping she’ll share more desserts with us in the coming weeks. Maybe she’ll start a blog also!


Take it away lil’ sis:


I recently bought a copy of Martha Stewart’s Baking Handbook, because who better to learn from than the great Martha Stewart? I may be a perennially unemployed lawyer in real life, but deep down I imagine myself to be a very accomplished baker. So since I have plenty of free time I decided to start baking a new recipe from the Baking Handbook at least once a week.  It will keep me entertained and make me feel like I am accomplishing something…and possibly force me to start working out if all the baked goods make it impossible for me to fit onto any of my clothes.  I always end up eating way more of whatever I bake than I should because my roomie doesn’t eat very much dessert and I don’t want all my efforts to go to waste!

My original plan was to go through all of the recipes in the cookbook in order, but the first chapter, “Simple Baked Goods”, turned out to be mostly biscuits and bread.  What is a single girl with a skinny roommate going to do with a dozen biscuits or a loaf of bread?? So I skipped ahead to the cookie chapter, which seemed like an easier place to start.  Plus, cookies are basically my favorite things to eat, so I’ll probably get more practical use out of this chapter.  I’m clearly not very good at sticking to plans, even my own, because I also decided to skip the first cookie recipe.  It was for chocolate chip cookies (my fave), but stated that they were crispy cookies, whereas I like my choc chip cookies soft.  So maybe I’ll try those later.  According to Martha, replacing some or all of the granulated sugar in a recipe with brown sugar will make a softer cookie, so I’ll use that technique in the future.

The second recipe was for Double Chocolate Brownie Cookies, so that is what I finally decided to make! They ended up being delicious and pretty easy to make.

The pictures I took of them don’t look very appetizing, but trust me, they tasted better than they looked.

Cookies

Cookies

Close-up

Close-up

I burnt my first batch a little because I wasn’t paying attention to the time, but they were still really good!

I ended up using pecans instead of walnuts because that’s what I had in my apartment, and if I make them again, I would probably add in a few more nuts.  I put in less than the suggested 3/4 cup, and I think more would have made them taste and actually look better.

If you love chocolate, you should definitely make these cookies.  You could even replace some of the unsweetened choc with semisweet choc if you wanted to make the cookies a little bit sweeter.  I’m going to try to make the next recipe, White Chocolate-Butterscotch cookies, this weekend!

Here’s the recipe:

9 ounces semisweet chocolate, chopped into 1/4 inch chunks

3 ounces unsweetened chocolate, coarsely chopped

6 tablespoons unsalted butter

1 cup granulated sugar

3 large eggs 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and line your baking sheet with parchment paper. Then melt the unsweetened choc, 5 ounces of the semisweet choc and the butter over a double broiler, or I’m sure melting it in the microwave is fine too.  Then let the mixture cool for about 5 minutes.  Beat the sugar into the choc and butter mixture until well combined, and then add the eggs.  Next beat in the vanilla, followed by the flour and salt.  Finally mix in the remaining chopped semisweet choc and the nuts.  Shape the dough into 1.5 inch balls and place on baking sheet.  Bake them between 9 and 11 minutes.

4 Responses to “Guest Blogger: My Sister the Baker”

  1. mom P. February 6, 2009 at 10:02 am #

    As one of the cookie tasters, I can attest to their quality. They are delicious. Good work.

  2. jesryl February 6, 2009 at 12:50 pm #

    hi blog hopping…hope u visit mine too

  3. domesticinnyc February 6, 2009 at 6:08 pm #

    they look delic!! you and i should hang out. i can sew and you can bake and we can have a lovely day together!
    ps. to those who think this is weird – it’s not, we are cousins.

  4. Skinny Roommate February 9, 2009 at 12:27 pm #

    I’m holding you to baking a new recipe at least once a week. I’d like to suggest oatmeal raisin next.

Leave a Reply

