Decorating help

27 Jan

I have to admit that post-lay off I’ve been a little down. Not totally depressed or anything – I mean I really believe things will work out for the best – but still I’ve been struggling a bit to shake off that grim feeling of no longer being in control. So, how nice is it that MJD surprised me with a gift?!!

Love gifts!

Apparently, he bought me these Jacqleen Bleu (check out her blog) Etsy prints after I wrote about them in December, but he was saving them for some TBD time — like now! I really love them, the colors, and textures, but also because they are different from anything else we own. But now I’m at a loss as to how to display them.

Should I keep them all together or hang them in different rooms? I guess I could frame the two larger ones in two simple 8 x 11 frames and hang then together, but what about the three smaller pictures?

If you have any ideas, please let me know!!!!!! Here’s a picture from Etsy of one of the prints he got me – beautiful, right?

Image on Etsy

Image on Etsy

Here’s the whole group of prints.

Etsy prints

Etsy Prints

Etsy Prints

Help!

4 Responses to “Decorating help”

  1. domesticinnyc January 27, 2009 at 11:31 am #

    These are gorgeous – I love the colors and use of light. Way to go MJD!! Good husbanding!
    Here’s what I would do…. because they are different sizes and orientations (vertical vs horizontal), I would hang them salon-style. Frame them in all different frames – dark wood, light wood, colored wood, etc and in various stages of age (you can either age frames yourself by chipping off some paint, or you can buy older frames). Then hang them close together but mix it up, don’t put the two larger ones next to each other, for instance. Keep at least 1″ apart, and see how you like it. Lay it all out on the floor fist and play with the arrangement before hanging anything. And don’t forget that not all art needs to be hung – leaning it on a shelf or against a floor is a chic and casual way to enjoy art as well.
    But regardless of where or how you hang them they are beautiful, so you’ll love them no matter what!

  2. mollytics January 27, 2009 at 2:34 pm #

    So beautiful. MJD is a keeper. Perhaps you should marry him?

  3. John P January 27, 2009 at 3:47 pm #

    MJD shows excellent taste and timing. I enjoyed the pictures the last time you mentioned Etsy as well. I’d place them in different rooms. Have you decorated the stairs yet? You might use some there.

  4. KPD January 27, 2009 at 4:12 pm #

    Ohhh the distressed frame idea is so good! And the different woods — maybe Eastern Market would have a nice selection!

    The hallway is still in need of paint and decoration!

Leave a Reply

