Inspired by Irish Eyes!

26 Jan

While catching up on reading this weekend (online reading that is!), I was moved nearly to tears by this book of photographs. Sara Christine at Miss Jane  writes about her friend Kate’s efforts to compile photographs in a book called, When Irish Eyes are Smiling, for her 91-year old grandmother.

These pictures remind me so much of my mom and her sisters, and my grandmother and her siblings, that I could not stop looking through it. My parent’s have this old picture in New York of my mom’s father (I never met him) sitting out on a lawn with my grandmother that I swear you could just drop into this book. I wish I had it in DC so I could share it. There is such a look about that time – I can’t really put into words. But there’s something about that old picture of my grandfather, and these pictures, that speaks volumes about people’s lives. I don’t know – I’m just rambling now!

So let’s move on to show and tell! The only picture I have in Washington of my grandmother is this one.

irish

Maybe one of my projects during unemployment will be to create a book of old photographs from all of my grandparents, and MJD’s grandparents, so that we have one spot to hold a few memories. 

Irish

Those outfits are so precious! I know I have more pictures with my dad’s parents somewhere – I need to organize!

2 Responses to “Inspired by Irish Eyes!”

  1. maureen January 26, 2009 at 8:07 pm #

    This is too cute!! That purple suit is something else!

  2. KPD January 27, 2009 at 4:13 pm #

    You should wear that to work this week! So cute!

Leave a Reply

