Some fabulous margaritas

25 Nov

I had a great time with my friends this weekend. I think it’s the first time I’ve had guests that wanted to do something touristy! I was all excited when I first moved to DC to have visitors and explore all the Smithsonian museums and monuments. But it turns out that my family and friends (including yours truly) prefers eating and shopping to “traditional” cultural activities!! This weekend we broke the mold though. On Saturday, Ellen and I went to the National Museum of the American Indian. Granted we spent most of our time in the gift shop, but we did see a documentary as well. To be honest, we were all quite impressed with ourselves.

Of course, other than that detour, we mostly ate our way through the city. We tried Lauriol Plaza but the two hour wait at 8:30pm on a Friday was a bit daunting, so we moved on to El Tamarindo, where we had fabulous margaritas. On Saturday, we grabbed lunch at Leopold’s Kafe in Georgetown (love that place), and on Sunday we hit up L’Enfant, where I just love that you can get a plate of little bites! I had a hard boiled egg, a croissant, a slice of cantaloupe, I mean what could be better!? For all you Britney fans, L’Enfant is counting down the days until her next album is released.

Lastly, we had an amazing dinner on Saturday night with our other NY friends who were in town for a family event. Ellen and I made the amazing pasta and meatballs that I mentioned last week (thanks again to WhereInDC), and we all watched Diane Sawyer’s interview with Ashley Dupre.

It was a great weekend in DC – I mean I cannot think of a better way to experience a city than free museums and a constant flow of snack breaks in different neighborhoods!

3 Responses to “Some fabulous margaritas”

  1. John P December 1, 2008 at 11:05 am #

    Your mother, sister and I want to remind you that we did all those tourist things with you, e.g. visiting museums, monuments, government buildings, etc. We feel your memory has been impacted by eating too much food and drinking too many margaritas.

  2. KPD December 2, 2008 at 3:57 pm #

    Yeah but we like to shop and drink beer more, right?!

  3. John P December 4, 2008 at 11:53 am #

    Drinking beer is definitely accurate.

Leave a Reply

