Two Amys = Two Pizzas for Me!

20 Nov

Last week, we went to Two Amys with an old friend of MJD’s from Cincinnati and his wife. As you may or may not know, DC has a terrible selection of pizza places, and I’ve only found a select few that do not make me want to eat dirt instead. (And in my opinion Pizza Paradiso tastes ordinary, like California Pizza Kitchen…I’m sorry…edible, but not outstanding.)

Two Amys happens to be one of those places that is actually really good! You won’t get a NY slice there, so don’t expect that. They serve Neapolitan style pizza – basically it’s fancier and does fancy really well! But because it’s one of the only reliable places in DC, we’re always too scared to try anything different, fearing that if we don’t like what we order our chance for good pizza will be shot for days! We always get the Margherita and the Two Amys.

2amyspizzapie

This time our friends convinced us to get four pizzas and try them all (Santa Brigida, Norcia, Margherita, and a special with lots of meat!). I have to say that each one was delicious, had a unique flavor combination, and we had so much fun with our taste test. Now I want to try a new pizza every time!

Moral of the story: Don’t limit yourself.

*And I wanted to be on record agreeing with the many that have come before me to claim that Two Amys is the best pizza around (DC).

4 Responses to “Two Amys = Two Pizzas for Me!”

  1. smartandfemale November 20, 2008 at 12:28 pm #

    Have you tried Matchbox in Chinatown yet?? I think it’s great. I’ve not tried Two Amy’s yet, but am planning on it.

  2. EP November 20, 2008 at 1:03 pm #

    So delicious! Now i wish that I had pizza for lunch…

  3. KPD November 20, 2008 at 7:22 pm #

    I have been to Matchbox, but not in at least two years! Thanks for the reminder! You should definately try Two Amys!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I swear I don’t only write about pizza… « DC Striving - November 21, 2008

    […] 21, 2008 by KPD …But, since I just happened to write about pizza in this town, I feel obligated to direct you to today’s post on Best Bites about […]

Leave a Reply

