Warning…must visit Georgetown to enjoy!

6 Nov

I had such a good brunch over the weekend! In my opinion, DC does not have the best brunch options, at least not easy neighborhood places.  I mean, if I ever have to eat brunch at Rosemary’s Thyme again, I will scream! The place has its benefits (outside seating, good bread when it’s fresh, good margaritas), but brunch is painful. What I’ve discovered though, is that if you are willing to travel for food, DC actually has some options…in Adam’s Morgan, Georgetown, Alexandria (I think that counts since it’s close!).

So, over this past weekend I dragged friends to Georgetown (what was I thinking on a Sunday!!!), to Leopold’s Kafe where we enjoyed really tasty coffee and brunch, although also suffered through horrible service.  I know a lot of friends who refuse to enter Georgetown on the weekend, but personally I find the experience a little comforting – like jostling the crowds of tourists in NY. The stress and irritation that comes with people stopping in the middle of the sidewalk, or walking on the wrong side of the sidewalk, is very familiar (I’m crazy!).

Anyway, I’ve been to Leopold’s before, and while the service is never speedy, it’s never been this bad either. So, I’m going to assume they were short-staffed.  The restaurant is nestled in this alley off the beaten path, and really feels like you stumbled upon a hidden treasure. There’s a small courtyard, where we sat, that is always full, and then a unique decor inside that doesn’t look like anything else in DC. It’s very modern, and orange! Best of all, they have so many Austrian pastries, cakes, tarts, and more.  Delicious!

I highly recommend it for brunch/lunch, or a late night coffee and dessert! It’s the worth the trek!

One Response to “Warning…must visit Georgetown to enjoy!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Some fabulous margaritas « DC Striving - November 25, 2008

    […] we moved on to El Tamarindo, where we had fabulous margaritas. On Saturday, we grabbed lunch at Leopold’s Kafe in Georgetown (love that place), and on Sunday we hit up L’Enfant, where I just love that you […]

Leave a Reply

