What’s up with Rhubarb?

16 Apr

I keep reading about rhubarb. Rhubarb cake, rhubarb crumble, rhubarb shortcake (and a beer dinner at Birch & Barley!), and Michelle Obama even has a rhubarb dance!

Now, I consider myself pretty well exposed to different food and ingrediants. I like to eat out, and try new things. So, I am little embarassed to say I don’t think I’ve ever tried rhubarb. Even if I have, I am equally embarassed to say I don’t remember. Maybe it’s because I usually go for the chocolate dessert, not the fruit?

I am determined to try it this season though. I am really not a baker, so any suggestions where to get a rhubarb crumble or tart?!

yum....more amazing pictures on Tartelette

7 Responses to “What’s up with Rhubarb?”

  1. mom P. April 16, 2010 at 6:07 pm #

    E.P.made a delicious Martha Stewart recipe for Easter,,,a rasberry rhubarb cobbler.

    • DC Striving April 19, 2010 at 10:30 am #

      Why hasnt she started a bake shop online yet? We could be famous!

  2. Jenna April 17, 2010 at 11:22 am #

    I have a bunch of strawberry and rhubarb jam leftover from the food bloggers bakesale. Let me know if you want some! It would be good over pound cake or on toast – or just eaten with a spoon (yes, I totally do that).

    • DC Striving April 19, 2010 at 10:29 am #

      That sounds delicious!! Did you get it at the sale this past weekend? I was in NY and so sorry to miss it!

  3. klegeyt April 18, 2010 at 6:34 pm #

    I made a rhubarb date chutney the other night as well as a strawberry rhubarb cobbler. Both delicious. I’ll send you the recipes! And we should be able to get rhubarb from the Farmers’ Market pretty soon.

    • DC Striving April 19, 2010 at 10:30 am #

      I am impressed!!! Please invite me to dinner soon;-)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly Roundup: Late Edition | ModernDomestic - April 17, 2010

    [...] rhubarb, rhubarb. It’s everywhere in the blogosphere. DC Striving wonders what’s up with the rhubarb [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

